Cliff Lumsdon Award of SSO

Awarded for Outstanding Achievement
in the sport of Marathon Solo Swimming
and for Meritorious Service
in Association with

Cliff Lumsdon Awards Ceremony: Greg Taylor & John Potocska Jack Ramsden



Factors Considered for The Award

Swimmer Contributor
A record distance or time for a distance on a recognized course. A contribution to marathon solo swimming with SSO in Ontario that made a singularly significant impact on the development/organization of this sport.
Oldest or youngest swimmer for a particular crossing. The creation of incentives (e.g. an Awards scheme) to promote participation in open-water swimming with SSO.
Multiple swims in the same year. Establishment, or significant development, of Safety regulations to improve the efficacy and efficiency of SSO safety regulations.
Multiple continuous crossings (2-way, 3-way, etc.). Long-term meritorious service with SSO as a Board Member, Swim Master, Boat Captain or Coach.
Disabled swimmer.
A unique stroke (Other than Front Crawl).
Successful major crossing under unusual or challenging conditions.


Recipients of The Award

Year Individual(s)
1993 Cliff Lumsdon, Marilyn Bell, Gus Ryder
1994 Carlos Costa
1995 John Scott
1996 Bob Weir
1997 Colleen Shields
1998 Joan Lumsdon, Jack Ramsden, Ted Roach
1999 Cindy Nicholas
2000 Vicki Keith
2001 No Recipient
2002 James Salter
2003 Marilyn Korzekwa
2004 Bryan Finlay
2005 Kim Middleton
2006 No Recipient
2007 No Recipient
2008 John Potocska
2009 Brian Keith & Neville Lewis
2010 Paula Stephanson
2011 Greg Taylor
2012-2022 No Submissions
2023 Loren King

Cliff Lumsdon | Cliff Lumsdon Park and Plaque
Contact WebMaster

Created: 20th September 2000
Last Updated: 23rd November 2023